Fall 2020 (Northern Hemisphere): Here comes the first day of fall, The ‘autumnal equinox’ is Tuesday

Goodbye sweat stains. Hello pumpkin spice.

Our long, hot summer is finally reaching a conclusion on Tuesday, Sept. 22 with the autumnal equinox, which denotes the start of fall in the Northern Hemisphere.

Autumn shows up Tuesday at 9:30 a.m. EDT (that is 8:30 a.m. CDT, 7:30 a.m. MDT and 6:30 a.m. PDT).

At an exact second every September, on either the 21st, 22nd or 23rd, the sun is legitimately over the equator, denoting the specific season of the autumnal equinox here in the Northern Hemisphere.

Below the equator in the Southern Hemisphere, it’s known as the vernal or spring equinox and imprints the start of spring. So in case you’re needing more ensured warmth and sunshine in the months ahead, head path down south to nations, for example, Argentina, South Africa or Australia.

‘Abrupt, punctuated and spectacular’:Foliage gauge shows leaves may change early this yearThe word equinox originates from the Latin words “aequalis” and “nox,” which means equivalent night.

On the pre-winter (and the spring) equinox, sunshine and evening are each both around 12 hours in length over a large portion of the world.

(The facts demonstrate that day and night aren’t actually 12 hours in length upon the arrival of the equinox in light of the fact that the Earth’s environment refracts, or twists, light in an optical hallucination that brings more sunshine than there truly is. Along these lines, the date when day and night are of equivalent length is generally a couple of days after the autumnal equinox.)

Another equinox fun truth: On Saturday, the sun ascends due east and sets in due west for a large portion of the world, aside from at the North and South Poles.

Although a few people guarantee that the autumnal equinox is the “official” beginning of fall, there is no administrative or political association that really assigns that.

Without a doubt, however stargazers state summer closes Tuesday, meteorologists and climatologists said summer finished Aug. 31, the last day of the three hottest months of the year (June, July and August).

While the first day of fall is Sept. 22, we won’t turn the clocks back until Nov. 1, when daylight saving time closes. The clocks are turned around at 2 a.m. by 60 minutes. That implies dawn and nightfall will be one hour sooner – and you’ll get an additional hour of sleep.

Add Comment